The Silent Sea, By Clive Cussler and Jack Du Brul

This is the seventh installment of the Oregon Files series by Clive Cussler.  The series started out as a spin off of characters created in one volume of the Dirk Pitt series, also by Cussler.  The characters turned out to be a perfect base on which to launch another successful series of books.  To date, I have enjoyed every installment of the Oregon Files series.  And The Silent Sea is no exception.

The story starts on a family owned island off the west coast of the United States.  For generations, the family members have struggled to reach bottom of a flooded shaft at the center of the island.  At the bottom of which is believed to be an abandoned pirates treasure.  But while the young men of the family line have struggled for generations to reach the bottom, none have yet discovered its secrets.

How the story spins from the small family owned island of North America to the jungles of Argentina and an ice covered base in Antarctica is something that must be experienced in order to be believed.  The story unfolds at an accelerated pace taking the characters on a series of twists and turns that ultimately lead not only the hidden secrets of the family owned island but the discovery of a lost ancient Chinese expedition and a deadly disease.

I’m a big fan of Cussler’s work.  After dozens of compelling and entertaining adventure stories, he continues to release creative and original works that center around powerful and captivating characters.  The Silent Sea is yet another great example of his work.

UPDATE: 3/22/10
Currently listed at #3 on the New York Times Best Seller List.

UPDATE: 4/19/10
Currently listed at #15 on the New York Times Best Seller List, but has made the list for 5 consecutive weeks.

(Visited 369 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Please enter your name, email and a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.